Will You Have Enough Money to Live Comfortably in Retirement?

Larrylambert
3 min readJan 17, 2023

You might be overthinking it.

Cartoon by Lambert-King

We’ve all seen them. Commercials touting financial advisors who will ensure their clients will have enough millions to retire on while maintaining a jet-setting lifestyle. Those commercials are nauseating. The biggest variable in the quality of your retirement is your health. When I “retired” it was more a matter me being tired of horse manure jobs than salting away a few million to go all “Hart to Hart” in my golden years.

What do you realistically expect regarding retirement?

Do you really see yourself driving a 30 ft, motor home cross country? I hope not. There needs to be a mathematical formula that governs the size of vehicle you drive according to your age. And no, more years doesn't mean you get to drive more vehicle.

Realistically, you will probably be shuffling to Denny’s for their early bird special. That doesn’t require having millions salted away.

Want to go to huge sporting events? Why bother when you can follow the game at home on TV without having to fight to get to the bathroom or pay $15 for a hot dog and coke? I learned something from a friend of my son’s.

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.