Things You Didn’t Know About Walter Matthau

Larrylambert
3 min readJun 14, 2024

Grumpy Old Men was a fitting wrap up for his career.

Creative Commons: Canadian Film Centre from Toronto, Canada

Walter Matthau was an amazing actor. While not a conventional leading man, he played a wide variety of roles. Many may remember him from his work in the “Grumpy Old Men” films. Or the similarly themed “Out to See.”

I also remember him as Morris Buttermaker, coach of “The Bad News Bears.” As I looked at the list of Walter’s movies, I see a number of films I would like to see. While I didn’t know A lot about Walter, some research uncovered some facts about Walter you probably didn’t know. And here we go.

1: Walter was a prankster and started the rumor his last name originally was Matuschanskayasky.

He was actually credited by that name in the movie, Earthquake. At that time, his was the biggest name in the movie industry.

2: Walter drew an impressive early review from one critic. Walter was playing a derelict and drew this review: “The others just looked like actors in make-up, Walter Matthau really looks like a skid row bum!

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.