Things You Didn’t Know About “The Partridge Family”

Larrylambert
3 min readSep 28, 2023

They were at least part family.

Creative Commons: Kevin Burkett

The 70s were somewhat of a turbulent time period. Various controversies raged. Among these were how the US should get out of Viet Nam, what should be done with Richard Nixon post-Watergate, and which was better, the “Partridge Family,” or “The Brady Bunch.”

My vote goes to “The Partridge Family.”

I believe it’s possible “The Partridge Family” actually made me laugh, whereas I don’t believe I can say the same about “The Brady Bunch.”

With that glowing recommendation out of the way, here are some things you might not have known about “The Partridge Family.”

1: We know the outcome of Shirley Partridge’s husband.

Shirley Partridge was a widow, whereas we are not sure what happened to Carol Brady’s first husband. While the backstory of The Partridge Family is sad, at least it’s not an “Unsolved Mystery.”

2: The show had some notable guest stars including Farrah Fawcett, Jaclyn Smith and Cheryl Ladd.

I’m starting to see another reason why the show appealed to young guys.

3: Susan Dey had a serious crush on David…

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.