Things You Didn’t Know About Terence Hill

Larrylambert
2 min readJul 22, 2024

Seems like he should have had an even bigger career.

Creative Commons: Spencerhilldb

I watched Terence Hill almost exclusively in westerns. And have enjoyed him immensely. He often teamed with his friend, Bud Spencer, in movies. Sometimes they played brothers. However, in his most famous role, Bud Spencer did not appear. Instead, Hill’s co-star was a guy named Henry Fonda. And the result was great.

Of course, I’m referring to, My Name is Nobody. In watching Hill, he moves like an athlete. And there’s a reason for that. He is. Hill was a swimmer of note. Beyond that, I didn’t know much about him. So, I did some research and as a result, here are some things you didn’t know about Terence Hill.

1: He was discovered at a swimming meet at the age of 12 by Italian filmmaker Dino Risi. Risi was looking for a boy to play a gang leader

Hill impressed Risi by slashing his tires. Wait, being told that’s not true.

2: Hill was born Mario Girotti.

For a time, he was one of Italy’s highest paid actors. Why? Because it took along time for Italy to get over the Hill.

3: Terence first worked with Bob Spencer in the spaghetti

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.