Things you Didn’t Know About Ted Turner

Larrylambert
3 min readApr 29, 2023

I have reason to like him.

Creative Commons: Alan Light

Ted Turner came to my attention sometime around 1980. My wife and I were living in Antlers, Oklahoma. I was surfing through our meager supply of TV stations available on our cable system, and lo and behold, an Atlanta Braves baseball game! WTBS had come to our cable system!

That might not sound like much, but to me, when it came to entertainment, it was a big deal. WTBS, or as it’s now known, TBS, was easily the best entertainment available on our cable system. There were Atlanta Braves baseball games, Atlanta Hawks Basketball games, and Atlanta Flames hockey games.

In addition, there were syndicated comedies and some cool old movies. WTBS was a real nice addition to the Antlers, Oklahoma entertainment venue. Thank you, Ted Turner,

But there’s more to Ted Turner than that. Here are some things you might not have known about Ted Turner.

1: Ted Turner launched “The Goodwill Games.”

The idea was to give poor people access to good clothes an thrift stores. Sort of like “Hunger Games,” only with clothes instead of food.

Wait, being told that’s not right. Actually, the Goodwill Games were designed to promote good will among nations.

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.