Things You Didn’t Know About Rock Hudson

Larrylambert
4 min readJul 8, 2024

And there are some things I won’t tell you.

Creative Commons: Reed Saxon, Los Angeles Times

Spoiler alert: Rock Hudson was gay. Also, this piece won’t go into much if any detail about who he may or may not have slept with. Beyond his sex life, Rock had an interesting career. And, I have to say, I enjoyed a lot of his movies.

Later in his career, he had some success with the TV series, McMillan and Wife. However, I remember Rock from some westerns he starred in. And of course, for some movie fans, his work with Doris Day was the highlight of his career. Now. onward to some things you didn’t know about Rock Hudson.

1: Rock was born in Winnetka, Illinois on November 17, 1925. His given name was Roy Harold Scherer Jr.

Rock’s father left him and his mother when Rock was very young. After that his father and mother were divorced and his mother married for a second time. She married former Marine Corps Officer, Wallace Fitzgerald. Rock despised him. I’m guessing Father’s Day wasn’t Rock’s favorite holiday.

2: Hudson attended New Trier High School in Winnetka. Other famous alum includes Charleton Heston and Ann Margaret.

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.