Things You Didn’t Know About Miami Vice

Larrylambert
4 min readNov 16, 2022

After leaving the Miami Vic squad, Crockett and Tubbs went on to become fashion police.

Creative Commons: Alan Light

I’ve said before the ‘Rockford Files” was my favorite detective show. “Hill Street Blues” was my favorite cop show. But Miami Vic was the most stylized of all the cops show. Not only did Crockett and Tubbs do away with bad guys, but they also got style points for the way they did it.

Crockett used a combination of tee shirts and facial stubble to make a fashion statement. I’ve seen panhandlers in Oklahoma City use those same two things, but not get the same result. Go figure. With that out of the way, here are some things you have not known about Miami Vice.

1: Miami Vice made heavy use of music to set the mood for the action.

No doubt all of our lives would be better off if they had a soundtrack. For example, if I was walking to the fridge, it would be nice if suspenseful music was playing to set the mood for my seeing if there was any meatloaf left.

2: Don Johnson was no better than the third choice to play Crockett.

Jeff Bridges and Nick Nolte were the preferred choices before Johnson was finally settled upon. Johnson eventually won the role based on his rapport with…

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.