Things You Didn’t Know About James Coburn

Larrylambert
3 min readJul 13, 2022

Coburn had an interesting look and career.

Creative Commons: Z-Grade

James Coburn had an interesting and varied career. I remember seeing him play the bad guy in a number of old westerns, but he went on to occasionally play the leading man, or at least one of the leads in a number of movies.

I recently wrote a piece on Charles Bronson. I can quickly think of three movies in which Bronson and James Coburn starred together. The original “Magnificent Seven” comes to my mind first, though, for some, it might be ‘The Great Escape.” Later they got together in a lower-keyed project titled, ‘Hard Times.’

It seemed that Coburn didn’t play totally good good-guy, he did play flawed good-guy fairly often. It made for some interesting characters. So, here are some things you might not have known about this interesting guy.

1: In college, he was friends with Robert Vaughn.

You might remember both of them were members of ‘The Magnificent Seven.” So much for the value of a college education. Who would have thought college-educated guys would have to turn to gunslinging?

2: Coburn was on an album cover of note.

Lo and behold, if you look at the “Band on the Run” album cover you will see James Coburn. I’m…

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.