Things You Didn’t Know About Gene Hackman

Larrylambert
3 min readSep 26, 2022

Hackman brought a sense of authenticity to his roles.

Creative Commons: Trish Overton

Over the years Gene Hackman has played some menacing characters. Some good, some bad. But when Hackman plays a tough guy, you believe his character is tough guy. That’s not to the case with all actors. Consider a case in point. I used to watch the TV show, Miami CSI. The resident butt kicker on that show was David Caruso. Really? I checked and some bio information said David is 6'0" tall and weighs about 180 pounds. I didn’t think he was that big. And why was he always wearing a jacket in Miami? But I digress.

It‘s hard for me to imagine Caruso working a thug over. Hackman, not so much. But beyond me thinking Hackman could kick some butt, here are some other things you might not have known about him.

1: Gene is a huge fan of the NFL’s Jacksonville Jaguars.

I wonder if he felt like kicking some Urban Meyer butt last year?

2: Popeyes chicken restaurants are named after Hackman’s Popeye Doyle character.

That's actually true. And those crazy driving scenes in The French Connection actually involve Popeye Doyle driving to get a chicken sandwich at breakneck speed. Whoops, being told that’s not true.

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.