Things You Didn’t Know About Don Knotts

Larrylambert
3 min readJan 5, 2023

There was more to him than Barney Fife.

Creative Commons: Movie-Fan

If you have been reading my stuff you probably know I’ve written about a lot of action stars. Guys like Clint Eastwood, Chuck Norris, Burt Reynolds, Charles Bronson, James Coburn and James Garner.

I’ve also done stories about other leading men such as Paul Newman and Clark Gable. Today I’m proud to add a guy who could fit into both categories, Don Knotts. Of course, Don played the action hero, Barney Fife on “The Andy Griffith Show, as well as noted ladies' man, Ralph Furley on ‘Three’s Company.” But wait, there’s more!

Here are some things you might not have known about Don Knotts.

1: Before he hit it big, Don took a job plucking chickens.

Out of all the stars I’ve read about, I believe Don is the only chicken plucker I’ve ever come across. Don is an inspiration for chicken pluckers everywhere.

2: He caught a break on the TV soap, “Search for Tomorrow.”

And if you’re plucking chickens, you’re going to be searching pretty hard.

3: Don left ‘The Andy Griffith Show” because of a misunderstanding.

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.