Things You Didn’t Know About Batman, the TV Show

Larrylambert
4 min readAug 8, 2022

It was more entertaining than some of the movies.

Creative Commons: AntMan3001

When it comes to campy TV series, Batman has to be near the top. Of course, just because a show is campy, doesn’t mean it can’t be entertaining. As a kid, I enjoyed the show. It had heroes in “interesting” outfits, flamboyant villains a great vehicle, and visual sound effects during fights.

In some ways, it was more watchable than the Batman movies. While I generally, like Danny Devito’s work but his portrayal as the Penguin was nauseating. I also found some of the action sequences in the Batman movies hard to follow. The action in the TV series was pretty straightforward and not all that complicated. So here are interesting facts about the classic TV series. Batman.

1: Batman busted out a new dance.

So, how good was he? About as good as you would expect a middle-aged man white man in tights to be.

2: Chandell was played by none other than Liberace.

I told you Batman villains were flamboyant. The name, “Chandell” is a play on one of Liberace’s prominent props, a chandelier. I think Liberace’s character should have developed a trademark look. A leer. The Chandell leer. Sorry.

3: Frank Sinatra…

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.