Ten Unusual Driving Tips

Larrylambert
3 min read1 day ago

These may not help with your insurance rates.

Cartoon by Larry Lambert

I’ve been driving for a long time and have amassed a lot of experience. Fortunately for you, I’ll share the benefits of my experience. I’ll warn you, some of these are not for the faint of heart.

1: Check the traffic behind you frequently.

It’s important to know what’s going on behind you when you’re driving. Generally speaking, it’s best to use your mirrors, though I have employed another technique.

Years ago, we were going from Oklahoma City to Orlando to go on vacation. When we got to Florida, there came a quick shower, as is so often the case. That made the roads slick. Not long after that, I had to make s sudden stop on a six-lane highway. My back tires started to hydroplane. I actually did a 360 without hitting another vehicle.

I ended up pointed in the right direction after that 360. I decided to use that near catastrophe as a teaching opportunity. I told my two young sons, “When you’re driving, it’s good to check the traffic behind you.”

It’s a lot easier to pull that 360 move off when your family isn’t screaming. It makes it hard to concentrate.

2: After driving through water, check to make sure your brakes are dry.

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.