So, What Did Happen to Randolph Scott?

Larrylambert
3 min readMay 24, 2023

Plus, other stuff you may have wondered about him.

Creative Commons: twm1340

Randolph Scott was one of the greatest westerns actors in motion picture history. While John Wayne might get the vote as the number one cowboy in cinema history, it was Randolph Scott that got props in “Blazing Saddles.” You probably remember Cleavon Little, aka Sheriff Bart, inspiring the residents of Rock Ridge with the line, “You’d do it for Randolph Scott.”

I used to see Randolph Scott movies all the time when I was a kid, but not so much lately. Still, I decided to do some research on this cinema stalwart of yesteryear. So, here are some things you might not have known about him.

1: Scott’s father, George Grant Scott, knew Howard Hughes and gave Randolph a letter of introduction to present to Hughes.

So, Randolph’s story is an inspirational one of going from riches to more riches.

2: In 1931, Scott first appeared as the lead in the movie, “Women Men Marry.”

It was made by a Poverty Row studio named Headline Pictures and now is apparently lost. So, how are we supposed to know what women men will marry?

3: Scott was a love interest of…

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.