Rethinking Retirement

Larrylambert
3 min readMay 18, 2024

It’s a fluid situation.

Cartoon by Lambert-King

We see and hear a lot about retiring, but for a lot of us, our retirement involves quitting a job, we hate, drawing our social security, and hanging on until we die. Now that I’m actually not working a regular job, I’ve found “retirement” to be a fluid situation.

And that’s not exactly a bad thing. Sitting around waiting for the Grim Reaper isn’t all that exciting of an option anyway. With that in mind, I find myself and my family preparing to move back to Oklahoma. We managed to sell our mobile home in Largo, Florida, and finally were able to find a home seller in Oklahoma that would take our money.

So, rather than sitting around and waiting for death, I decided to move to Oklahoma and write more. I found myself no longer going to the beach in Florida. First, there was red tide. Then there were two years of covid. But the one constant I’ve encountered is traffic.

Traffic in Pinellas County has been bad since we moved here in 2013 but has gotten worse. At my age, I don’t want to spend my remaining time waiting in traffic.

There are some stories about Florida I haven’t worked on as of yet but should have. For example, I thought about writing, “The Time I Drove Across Town without Having to Pull Over for an Ambulance.” Of course, writing fiction is not my forte.

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.