Practical Mind Games to Stay Mentally Sharp

Larrylambert
4 min readNov 23, 2022

Then nobody will be able to steal your pudding when you’re in the home.

Cartoon by Lambert-King

One of the many challenges of getting old is trying to maintain as many of your marbles as possible. You can find a number of suggestions to help you do that. I’ve seen stuff like playing word games, learning a new language and volunteering as means of maintaining mental acuity. Well, those suggestions are fine, but I like to multitask. I want to try to maintain mental dexterity while also getting some practical benefit in the meantime.

With this in mind, here are some games and activities designed to give you long-term mental benefits while helping you immediately. And, as Jackie Gleason would say, ‘And away we go!”

1: ‘Did I tell this person this story before?”

We all have favorite stories we like to tell, so the danger is we are telling the same story to the same person time after time. If our memory is slipping, we have to use our powers of deduction and observation. Is the listener pulling away from us? Is he actually running away from us? Are his eyes glazing over? If so, we may have told this story to this audience before. Regardless, if we see our audience doing any of the things mentioned, abort the story.

2: ‘Where did I park my car?”

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.