More Reminders That I’m Old

Larrylambert
2 min readMay 14, 2024

They are everywhere.

Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

I recently had cataract surgery. Obviously, that’s a reminder I’m getting old, but it didn’t stop there. My eyes are more sensitive to light now that they aren’t shaded by cataracts. To combat that, I now wear sunglasses. Of course, I want to look cool behind those shades.

Not what I had in mind

I was hoping for a Tom Cruise in Top Gun look but came up a bit short. I got Joe Biden preparing for a walk. But it’s not just physical things, cultural issues have my attention.

What has happened to music?

Okay, I’ll admit it. I don’t know any Taylor Swift songs. That in itself shows the world is passing me by. I really can’t think of any new artist that appeals to me unless you count Huey Lewis.

Hold on, being told Huey Lewis and the News are not new artists. I guess they are now officially Huey Lewis and the Old News. And then there’s music on the radio stations.

I’ve been without Sirius radio for a while now. And I really miss it. While I have access to some alleged oldies stations, what they play isn’t old enough for me.

Most of the songs played don’t go past the 80s. I need more 60s and 70s. I guess I don’t need and oldies station, I need an extinctes station. I miss…

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.