I’ve Never Been to the OK Corral, but I Survived the Golden Corral

Larrylambert
3 min readJun 15, 2024

Which place is more dangerous?

Cartoon by Lambert-King

The OK Corral was the alleged scene of the most storied shootout in the history of the US. The Golden Corral is the home of some of the worst eating habits in US history. Which site has proven to be the most lethal?

Well, at the OK Corral, the deaths were capped at three initially, though many more died in the aftermath. After the shootout at the OK Corral, two “winners” of the conflict, Wyatt Earp and Doc Holliday left the scene. Basically, the OK Corral resulted in some guys having the runs. Much like the Golden Corral.

There was a doctor on hand at the OK Corral. That’s not a bad idea for the Golden Corral.

While the cause of death at the OK Corral was guys getting shot, that was preceded by lots of bad decisions. Likewise, whatever damage is done by the Golden Corral is generally a result of bad decisions on the part of the participants. I suspect it’s possible to make good food decisions while eating at the Golden Corral, though, generally speaking, people don’t usually go to an all-you-can-eat buffet to make good food choices.

Case in point is a couple of my best friends’ father. He was a big man. Not fat, just big. His family, at the time, consisted of himself, his wife, their two teen-aged…

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.