Facts About Willie Nelson

Larrylambert
3 min readJan 23, 2024

Here’s like the Energizer Bunny.

Creative Commons: rtilden

Willie Nelson is a guy who draws fans from all walks of life. He’s huge in country music, as well as being an actor of note. As for me, while, as I’ve stated, I’m not a huge fan of country music, I do like Willie, both as a singer and an actor. The fact he has been in so many westerns accounts for a lot of my fondness of him.

In addition to his performing talent, his use of marijuana has gotten a lot of attention, as has his tax problems. So, after a little deeper dive into Willie’s life, here are some things you didn’t know about Willie Nelson.

1: Willie once raced into a burning building.

He wasn’t being heroic; he was rushing in to save his stash of pot before firemen found it and turned him into the police. His one-hundred tapes of yet-to-be-recorded songs didn’t survive the fire. Willie does have his priorities.

2: He retired over 50 years ago.

Obviously, it didn’t take. He was back on the charts within a year with his Shotgun Willie album. In fairness, there’s a good chance Willie was smoking weed at the time of his retirement.

3: He’s had Trigger with him for over 50 years.

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.