Facts About “Three Dog Night”

Larrylambert
3 min readMar 4, 2024

They were probably the hottest group in the world when I was in high school.

Creative Commons: Abrohill

When -I listen to satellite radio, the station I’m most likely to listen to is the 70s channel. Or maybe Yacht Rock, but I digress. Yacht Rock played a lot of 70s music. The point of this is Three Dog Night might have been the kings of 70s music. They were so popular, I even had some of their records.

I knew there were three lead singers in the group, and I also knew a little bit about the origin of the group’s name. It came from Australian aborigines sleeping with a dog or dingo for warm on a cold night. If a night was particularly cold, it might be a three-dog night. That wasn’t a deep well of knowledge to draw from. So, after doing some more reading, here are some things you didn’t know about Three Dog Night.

1: The original members of the group disbanded in 1976, but they did due some reunion tours.

They mostly did warm weather locations since it was hard to get all three of the lead singers together. Sometimes it was Two-Dog Night, and sometimes even a One-Dog Night.

2: One of the lead singers, Cory Wells, was named Emil Lewandowski at birth.

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.