Facts About Roger Miller

Larrylambert
3 min readOct 26, 2023

In addition to being a great musician, he was a funny guy.

Creative Commons: teakwood

While I wasn’t much of a country western music fan growing up, or even now for that matter, there were exceptions to that rule. Roy Clark and Johnny Cash are prime examples. And you can add Roger Miller to that list. In addition to his musical talent, he was noted for his wit. Generally speaking, country western musicians who also incorporated comedy in their act appealed to me.

Plus, Roger was also an Okie. It seems like growing up in Oklahoma helps a person develop a sense of humor. So, here are some things you might not have known about Roger Miller.

1: He ended up in the army over a guitar.

When Roger was 17, he stole a guitar. However, his conscience got the better of him and he turned himself in. After that, he joined the army and went to Korea rather than going to jail. I’m guessing he didn’t have a lawyer.

2: In typical Roger Miller fashion he referred to the situation by saying, “My education was Korea, Clash of ’52.”

That was a tough curriculum.

3: Roger won a total of 11 Grammys in 1964 and 65.

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.