Facts About Rod Serling

Larrylambert
3 min readDec 2, 2023

How did he come to create “The Twilight Zone?”

Creative Commons: meltwater

To call “The Twighlight Zone” innovative is an understatement. The series presented a number of variations of science fiction themes. Included were storylines that involved time travel, nuclear holocaust, death and some other things I’ll classify as just weird.

While I remember Rod as the creator of “The Twilight Zone” I did know much about him beyond that. I did know he smoked a lot and died young, but that’s about it. So, I did a little research. here are some things you might not have known about Rod Serling.

1: Rod did some noteworthy work for the “Kraft Television Theatre.” His script called; “Patterns” won him his first Emmy.

The script dealt with the lack of corporate morality. Fortunately, as we all know corporations have become more compassionate, and as Mitt Romney taught us, corporations are now people.

2: Serling railed against censorship and became known as “the angry young man of Hollywood.”

Of course, Serling was concerned about not being able to develop themes about war and racism, not for the right to use certain cuss words.

3: Rod enjoyed sports.

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.