Facts About Robert Culp

Larrylambert
3 min readFeb 20, 2024

Does anybody else remember him from “I Spy?”

Creative Commons: Manuel Bartual from Madrid, España

I have vague recollections of watching Robert Culp team with a then popular Bill Cosby in a TV show called” I Spy.” The show combined action and humor as well as excellent chemistry between Culp and Cosby. In addition, Culp played in a number of westerns, so that helped his visibility, at least with me.

Before I started writing this, I didn’t know a lot about Culp. When I started getting more information about Culp, I was surprised, and not always in a good way. With that said, here some things you didn’t know about Robert Culp.

1: He was a poker buddy of Hugh Hefner, so he spent a lot of time at the Playboy Mansion.

So, did they play Strip Poker at the Playboy Mansion?

2: Perhaps related to that, Culp was known to be very active in Southern California’s swinger subculture.

Is that like in baseball when sometimes there is a swing and a miss?

3: Culp was one of only five actors to play multiple killers in “Columbo.”

So, he was somewhat of an acting serial killer on the show.

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.