Facts About Richard Crenna

Larrylambert
3 min readDec 27, 2023

He went far beyond “The Real McCoys.”

Creative Commons: John Mathew Smith & www.celebrity-photos.com from Laurel Maryland, USA

I first remember Richard Crenna as Luke in “The Real McCoys.” He then went on to play in a number of action movies. He's perhaps best known as Trautman in the Rambo series. However, I remember him from a couple of westerns. I remember him in a supporting role in “Breakheart Pass, and a starring role in “Catlow.” I enjoyed both of those movies.

It does seem to me that Crenna could had even a bigger career in front of the camera, not that he didn’t have a great career. I really didn’t know a whole lot about Crenna so I did so more research about him. Here are some things you probably didn’t know about Richard Crenna.

1: Richard was one of the first actors over-21 actors to play a teenager on TV.

He was 25 when he started playing Walter Denton on “Our Miss Brooks.” In fairness, young guys often say they are older than they really are at bars, so it works both ways.

2: Crenna took the role of Colonel Sam Trautman in the Rambo series after Kirk Douglas left one day into filming.

It seems that Douglas was upset because he was told to keep his shirt on. Hold on, being told that’s not the case. Not sure why Douglas…

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.