12 Facts About Reba McEntire

Larrylambert
3 min readJust now

Another Oakie hits the big time.

Creative Commons: Gage Skidmore

I’m more familiar with Reba McEntire from her work on TV than I am from her music. Reba is from Oklahoma and that is part of her character/persona. She generally plays a country girl who, behind the rural facade is surpassingly insightful. She may overplay that schtick a bit, but she come across as generally likable. One of the projects I particularly enjoyed Reba in was the movie, ‘Tremors.”

I also saw her and her real-life boyfriend, Rex Linn, another Oakie, in the TV series, Big Sky. They played a married couple in that series, but Rex reverted back to his old serial killing ways and it put a strain on the family. You can watch the series to see how that plays out. On to some other things you didn’t know about Reba.

1: Reba was discovered while singing at a rodeo when Red Steagall heard her.

I’m pretty sure it wasn’t her first rodeo.

2: Reba got her start singing with her siblings in a group called “The Singing McEntires.”

They were not to be confused with “The Yodeling McEntires.”

3: In 1975 Reba signed a recoding deal with PolyGram/Mercury Records and moved

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.