Facts About Raymond Burr

Larrylambert
3 min readApr 26, 2024

He was the first great TV lawyer.

Creative Commons: Joost Evers / Anefo

I’ve written about Perry Mason in the past. While he was a giant among early TV shows, it didn’t grab my attention. Not surprisingly, Burr didn’t grab my attention either. But beyond Perry Mason, Burr also had another successful TV series, Ironside. That also didn’t pique my interest. Possibly because I didn’t see that as an action series.

In addition to his career in TV, Raymond also had a notable movie career. And in following the trend of this article, I don’t recall in of his movie projects that blew me away. I do believe he was in a Godzilla movie, but I’ll have to verify that. This should be a journey of discovery for me. And here we go, looking for facts about Raymond Burr.

1: During his career, his weight was an issue.

That’s not surprising since his birth weight was 12 pounds. That’s tough. I don’t think Weight Watchers has a program for babies.

2: He received some financial advice from Errol Flynn. Flynn told him that if he died with $10 in his pocket, he hadn’t done a good job.

I’m not sure taking financial advice, or any advice from Flynn was a good idea. When it came to money management, Flynn wasn’t exactly…

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.