Facts About Lloyd Bridges

Larrylambert
3 min readJan 20, 2024

He’s a lot more than Jeff and Beau Bridges’ father.

Creative Commons: Alan Light

When I think of Lloyd Bridges, which isn’t all that often, a few things come to mind. Of course, he’s the father of Beau and Jeff Bridges so there’s that. But he was also Gary Cooper’s deputy in High Noon, the star of the TV series, Sea Hunt, played a memorable role in Airport and did some great work on Seinfeld.

Those things alone would signify a great career, but I figured I’d find out some more about him. So, here are some things you didn’t know about Lloyd Bridges.

1: He won a fat baby contest in 1914.

He was awarded the winner’s cup by the judge of the contest, then President of the US, William Taft. Taft thought Lloyd was as fat as he was. It seems like winning that contest could have been traumatic when Lloyd got older.

2: Lloyd was considered for the role of James T Kirk.

After not landing that role, he went on to other enterprises.

3: His TV series, “Sea Hunt,” was very popular.

His character’s name was Mike Nelson who was a former Navy frogman who became a freelance scuba diver. He was like “Diver Dan” for adults.

4: Bridges had a

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.