Facts About Leonard Nimoy

Larrylambert
4 min readDec 16, 2023

Besides being Mr. Spock, he was in a lot of westerns.

Creative Commons: Gage Skidmore

I enjoyed Leonard as Mr. Spock. I also noticed him popping up in a lot of old westerns. Leonard had somewhat of a love/hate relationship with the character of Mr. Spock. It seemed that for a while, he resented the character because the character overshadowed the actor. Thus, the book, “I am not Spock.” The response was not overwhelmingly positive.

Nimoy later seemingly had a change of heart and wrote his second autobiography, “I am Spock.”

He also narrated the series, “In Search of…” series. I caught a lot of flak over a cartoon I wrote about this. One geek raised the question of what Leonard was in search of that week. His buddy responded, “another paycheck.” Turns out Mr. Spock still had a lot of fans. So, on to some things you didn’t know about Leonard Nimoy.

1: Like many actors, Nimoy worked at a number of miscellaneous jobs before his acting career took off.

Included in his resume is a stint as a vacuum cleaner salesman. No doubt Leonard could explain to customers why buying a vacuum from him was a logical choice.

2: The “Vulcan Salute” from Star Trek came courtesy of Leonard Nimoy.

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.