Facts About Lee Marvin

Larrylambert
3 min readOct 15, 2023

He was an actual tough guy.

Creative Commons: Dijk, Hans van / Anefo

In addition to his movies, Lee Marvin is also remembered for being involved in a high-profile palimony lawsuit with Michelle Triola Marvin. Ultimately, Marvin was ordered to pay Michele $104,000 for what was described as “rehabilitation purposes.” I’m just curious as to what she was rehabbing from. Was it from Lee? Was there a Betty Ford like clinic to help women get over being in a relationship with Lee. Was a 12-step program involved?

Eventually that settlement was overturned in appeals court.

After that little morsel, it’s on to some more things you might not have known about Lee.

1: Regarding that palimony suit, Marvin called it a “circus and said, “everyone was lying, even I lied.”

I have to say, Lee picked an interesting time to take up honesty.

2: Lee and his older brother Robert were both named after Confederate General, Robert E Lee.

In today’s climate, Lee might have had to change his name to Ulysees.

3: Marvin was a poor student in school, suffering from dyslexia and ADHD.

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.