Facts About Jerry Reed

Larrylambert
3 min readJan 4, 2024

He was hot a lot.

Creative Commons: Brett Jordan

Generally speaking, I’m not a big country western music guy, but there are a few exceptions. In the past I’ve mentioned Roy Clark and Johnny Cash as exceptions. Jerry Reed also belongs in that group. Not only do I enjoy his music, but I also find him to be a likeable performer.

While Jerry often played the likeable sidekick, he played bad guy, Bama McCall, in the Burt Reynolds movie, Gator. Picking my favorite Jerry Reed song is tough. I enjoy East Bound and Down, Amos Moses, and When You’re Hot, You’re Hot. All have a certain feel about them. So, here are some things you don’t know about Jerry Reed.

1: Jerry wrote East Bound and Down in just a few hours.

Not only could the Snowman drive fast, but he could also write fast.

2: Originally, Jerry Reed was going to be The Bandit in Smokey and the Bandit, with no Burt Reynolds in the movie.

So, I guess Reynolds came in and stole the role of the Bandit. It seems fitting.

3: Jerry wasn’t a fan of catch and release.

Jerry appeared with Bill Dance on Bill Dance Outdoors and caught a particularly big largemouth bass. Jerry wanted…

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.