Facts About Jack Palance

Larrylambert
3 min readJan 14, 2024

He was called “low down Yankee liar.”

Creative Commons: twm1340

Jack was great as a villain. To me, his signature role was that of the gunfighter, Jack Wilson, in the classic movie, Shane. Jack was also great in City Slickers, and he could do a lot of pushups in his old age. I knew he had what I will call an “interesting look,’ but felt like I had forgotten a lot of stuff about him.

So, I was inspired, sort of, to do some more research on Jack. So, here are some things you might not have known about Jack Palance.

1: Jack was of Ukrainian descent and is birth name was Volodymyr Ivanovich Palahniuk.

Since that wouldn’t fit on a marquee, he changed it to Walter Jack Palance.

2: Jack briefly worked in coal mines but escaped via athletics. Jack got a football scholarship to the University of North Carolina and also boxed professionally.

He boxed under the name Jack Brazzo, and won his first 15 fights, 12 by knockout. Actually, Jack Brazzo sounds like a really good screen name.

3: World War II put an end to Jack’s boxing career. He became a bomber pilot, being awarded

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.