Facts About Humphrey Bogart

Larrylambert
3 min readNov 10, 2023

He seems like an odd choice to play a tough guy.

Creative Commons: twm1340

I can’t remember the last time I saw a Humphrey Bogart movie. I know he starred in some classics, but I’m not sure I’ve ever watched “Treasure of the Sierra Madres” or ‘The Maltese Falcon” in their entirety. That’s something I should probably put on my to do list.

Beyond his movies, I knew a little bit about his relationship with Luren Bacall as well as he was a heavy smoker and he died young. So, there was a lot to learn. Here are some things you might not have known about Humphrey Bogart.

1: In 1999 he was ranked as the greatest actor of all time by the American Film Institute.

I really should watch one of his movies.

2: Early in his career, he received positive reviews for his portrayal of Hugh “Baby Face’ Martin in 1937’s “Dead End.”

So, how many depression era bad guys were nicknamed “Baby Face.”

3: Bogart is famous for the detectives he played. Sam Spade in “The Maltese Falcon” and Phillip Marlow in “The Big Sleep” come to mind.

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.