Facts About George Reeves

Larrylambert
4 min readFeb 15, 2024

There was a cruel irony about his cause of death.

Creative Commons: monstersforsale

When I was a kid, George Reeves was Superman. I read a few of the Superman comic books but didn’t really get into them. While not a huge fan of the TV series, I watched in part, because of limited options. Also, WGN played the show fairly often, sometimes before a Cubs or White Sox game, so Superman was sometimes something of a pregame show for me.

Before writing this piece, I knew George Reeves played Superman, died under mysterious circumstances, and he also appeared in Gone with the Wind. In addition to those things, here are some things you might not have known about George Reeves.

1: George played Stuart Tarleton in “Gone with the Wind,” though he’s incorrectly listed as Brent Tarleton in the credits.

Both he and Fred Crane died their hair red to play the Tarleton twins. It seems like dying your hair red doesn’t make you successful at romance.

2: George appeared in five Hopalong Cassidy movies.

Originally, Hopalong was known as Limpalong but it was changed when it was discovered test audiences didn’t like it. Hold on, being told that’s completely bogus.

3: In June of 1951

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.