Facts About Fess Parker

Larrylambert
3 min readDec 18, 2023

He was the ultimate frontiersman.

Creative Commons: France1978

Fess Parker was a hot commodity during the 50s and 60s. He displayed tremendous versatility. Not only was he “The rippin’est roarin’est fightin’est man the frontier ever knew,” he was also, “The kind of the wild frontier.” Actually, as I think about it, those to descriptions kind of sound like the same guy.

Obviously, Parker played both Daniel Boone and Davy Crockett but beyond that, I diodn’t know a lot about Fess Parker. So, after a little research, here are some things you might not have known about Fess Parker.

1: He actually gave guitar lessons to Buddy Ebsen in exchange for dancing lessons.

Oddly, that’s not what I had envisioned frontiersmen doing around the campfire.

2: His version of, ‘King of the Wild Frontier” was number one on the charts for 16 weeks.

Apparently, Fess was also king of the record charts.

3: Unfortunately for Fess, he was paid only $150 for his musical rendition of “King of the Wild Frontier.

Who was his agent, Colonel Tom Parker?

4: He wanted to be cast

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.