Facts About Dustin Hoffman

Larrylambert
3 min readApr 3, 2024

During the 70s he seemed to be in every bigtime movie.

Creative Commons: Georges Biard

From the late 60s through the 90s, Dustin Hoffman was an incredibly prolific actor. He starred in a number of diverse roles. Included were star turns in Midnight Cowboy, Kramer vs. Kramer, Hook, and The Graduate.

The movie he made that had the biggest impact of me and my family was Rainman. My son is 46 years old and high-functioning autistic. Before Rainman came out, very few people knew anything about autism. The movie made a huge difference in autism awareness.

And Dustin hit it out of the park in playing an autistic man. By the way, Tom Cruise was also great in that movie. It seems his role is somewhat overlooked, but I digress. Against that backdrop, here are some things you didn’t know about Dustin Hoffman.

1: When he told his family, not all of them were supportive.

His aunt Pearl told him, “You can’t be an actor. You are not good-looking enough.” Aunt Pearl was a gem.

2: Early on, Dustin wanted to be a classical pianist, but decided he didn’t have the talent.

Dustin said of himself, “I just was not gifted in music. I did not have an ear.” So, you have a guy that wasn’t that good music…

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.