Facts About Dennis Quaid

Larrylambert
3 min readAug 8, 2024

His life hasn’t been as “colorful” as that of his brother Randy Quaid.

Creative Commons: Gage Skidmore

Dennis Quaid has an impressive body of work. It seems that Dennis was in a lot of good if not great movies. But one of Dennis’ performances and movies stands out. I’m talking, of course about his role of Lar in the Ringo Star classic, Caveman. Yes, I am being facetious, but that is an underrated comedy.

One role that I think Dennis doesn’t get enough credit for is his Doc Holliday role in Wyatt Earp. Quaid lost close to 40 pounds to play Holliday. I think one reason his Doc Holliday is overlooked is because Val Kilmer’s performance as Doc in Tombstone was so off the charts.

With that introduction, here are some things you didn’t know about Dennis Quaid.

1: Dennis attended high school at Bellaire High School in Bellaire, Texas where he studied Mandarin Chinese and dance.

Who would have thought those options were available in Bellaire, Texas in the 70s?

2: Quaid’s breakout role was that of Gordon Cooper in the “Right Stuff.

Lots of the actors in that great movie showed the right stuff as actors.

3: Quaid’s career hit a speed

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.