Facts About David Caradine

Larrylambert
4 min readJan 26, 2024

He was one of those guys who was kung fu fighting.

Creative Commons: mooon2

Most adults who have watched TV or movies are aware of who David Carradine was. Carradine has literally hundreds of acting credits from stage, TV, and films. In addition, he comes from one of Hollywood’s most famous acting families.

Beyond two the Kill Bill movies, Carradine is also famous for his role as Caine in the TV show, Kung Fu, as well as his manor of death. I’m not going to go into detail about Carradine’s death. I’ll say that it wasn’t ruled a suicide, but it also wasn’t the result of what most people would deem, natural causes.

As for his character Caine from Kung Fu, there was a certain irony about him. Though he was a very peaceful guy, he had to kick an inordinate amount of butt. I believe it was determined that kicking butt was better for ratings than being peaceful. Beyond that, here are some things you didn’t know about David Carradine.

1: He had an unusual gig in the Army.

He drew pictures for training aids. I’m not sure of what type of training was being illustrated.

2: At the time he was starring in “Kung Fu,” he didn’t know anything about martial arts.

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.