Facts About Clint Walker

Larrylambert
3 min readSep 7, 2023

It seems like he could have been an even bigger star.

Creative Commons: Film Star Vintage

The late 50s and early 60s was the golden age of TV westerns. They were everywhere you turned. And one of the biggest western stars, both literally and figuratively, was Clint Walker. He starred in the hit TV series, Cheyenne, as well as starring in some movies. You will notice that in the picture that goes with this article, Clint is wearing his shirt, which makes this photo rare. Okay, that’s an exaggeration.

Walker did have a striking physical appearance, standing 6'6" with a 48 inch chest and 32-inch waist. So why was Walker photographed so often with his shirt off? The same reason I wear a t-shirt when I go to the pool. People want it that way. Having said that, on to things you might not have known about Clint Walker.

1: His full name is Norman Eugene “Clint” Walker.

Yea, I’d go by Clint too. Actually, my middle name is also Eugene, so I understand his shame.

2: Among Clint’s early jobs was nightclub bouncer.

Probably one of the quickest ways to get bounced from the club where Clint was working was to call him Eugene.

3: When Clint became a client of agent Henry Wilson, Wilson renamed him…

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.