Facts About Christopher Reeve

Larrylambert
3 min readJul 6, 2023

He was my favorite Superman.

Creative Commons: elbragon

When I was kid, George Reeve was TV Superman. He was ok. Then, years later came the movie version of Christopher Reeve. And he was very good. At least in my opinion. Most of us know about his tragic accident which ultimately resulted in his death. I will say the way he handled his situation after his accident was courageous and garnered him a ton of respect.

I think most of us know Reeve from his performance as Superman, but I dug deeper to see what else I could find out about him. Here are some things you might not have known about Christopher Reeve.

1: Reeve played Superman four times in the movies, more than any other actor.

That’s all well and good, but I’m disappointed that Gene Hackman played Lex Luthor only twice. And the fact that Ned Beatty played Otis only once is a downright shame.

2: Reeve had to bulk up for the role of Superman.

He had to double his food intake. That’s odd. I’ve upped my food intake and look nothing like Superman.

3: Christopher wasn’t thrilled about the prospect of doing the fourth Superman movie, ‘The Quest for Peace.”

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.