19 Things You Didn’t Know About Chevy Chase

Larrylambert
5 min readAug 20, 2023

His career started out on fire.

Creative Commons: Alan Light

During the mid 70s, “Saturday Night Live” was the hottest show on TV, and Chevy Chase was the hottest talent on the show. If you don’t believe me, you could ask him. At least that was his reputation. Chase left the show to go onto a movie career, and while it might not have proven to be quite what some thought, it has been solid.

After all, Chase has been part of the “Vacation” and “Fletch” franchises along with some other notable films. My favorite Chevy Chase movie is “The Three Amigos.” I’m a fan of Steve Martin and Martin Short and really think the movie has been somewhat overlooked.

One of my favorite Chevy Chase moments is when Chase was on the “Tonight Show” with Siskel and Ebert. If you want a laugh, I suggest you google it. Now, on to some things you might not have known about Chevy Chase.

1: While Chase has done some notable work on the TV series, “Community,” he’s not a fan of the show.

Among other things, Chase is quoted as saying, “and it’s still a sitcom on television, which is probably the lowest form of television.” Those of us who remember his talk show might disagree.

2: Chase made a movie called, ”Doogal,”…

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.