14 Facts About Rod Taylor

Larrylambert
4 min readApr 8, 2024

Before there was Mel Gibson, there was Rod Taylor.

Creative Commons: monstersforsale

I remember Rod Taylor, primarily from his work in the 6os. More specifically, I remember from the sci-fi classic, The Time Machine. I remember him as being about as good at fighting Morlocks as Charlton Heston was at fighting apes in The Planet of the Apes. I heard of guys fighting out of their weight class, but Taylor and Heston were fighting up their species class. At least physically speaking.

After doing some research, I found out Morlocks weren’t the only thing Rod fought. But more about that later. Like may movie stars. Rods personal life was rocky. So, here are some things you didn’t know about Rod Taylor.

1: Rod’s first leading role in a movie was as a time traveler in “The Time Machine.”

Alan Young, owner of the legendary Mr. Ed, was also in the movie. Alan had a pretty diverse career. He owned a talking horse and had a friend with a time machine.

2: Taylor was approached about the role of James Bond but considered the role beneath him.

Afterwards Rod commented, “Every time a new Bond picture became a smash hit … I tore out my hair.” Well, as Sean Connery taught us, you didn’t have to have hair to…

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.