12 Facts About Russell Johnson

Larrylambert
3 min readJun 16, 2024

He was more than The Professor.

Photo by Sam Balye on Unsplash

Somehow, over the years, Gilligan’s Island has become classic TV. In addition, the actors in the series have become favorites for many TV viewers. For example, Russell Johnson has become more beloved over the years.

In addition to his role as The Professor on Gilligan’s Island I saw Russell crop up in a lot of other things I watched. Stuff like westerns and The Twighlight Zone. Cool stuff. I decided to look into Russell’s life and career some more. Thus, here are some things you probably didn’t know about Russell Johnson.

1: The Professor’s name in “Gilligan’s Island was Roy Hinkley.

You would have thought after all those years on the island the other castaways would have used his first name.

2: Russell flew 44 combat missions during World War II. He was shot down and Johnson broke both ankles during the landing.

That was an even rougher landing than the SS Minnow experienced.

3: Many of Russell’s early movie roles were in westerns. Included was “Rancho Notorious” which starred Marlene Dietrich.

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.