10 Things You Didn’t Know About John Candy

Larrylambert
3 min readSep 4, 2023

He was one of my favorites.

Creative Commons: Mike F. Campbell

Some time ago I made a list of my 15 favorite comedians. John Candy came in at number 14. I also mentioned the parts he played were often loveable oafs. His role in “Planes, Trains, and Automobiles” is a case in point.

I’ve seen some episodes of SCTV, and the show really did have a great ensemble cast. And John Candy stood out even in the midst of that great group of comedians. Now, on to facts about John Candy.

1: John won two Emmys for his work on SCTV as a writer.

It was Second City TV, but as a writer John was first.

2: Candy did a great cameo as polka king, Gus Polinski, in “Home Alone,” but wasn’t paid much for it.

John was paid only $414 for his role, which was one of the best parts of the movie. He could have probably made more with his polka band. By the way, I think John would have been voted actor most likely to play a character named Gus.

3: At one point Candy was in line to co-star in a movie with Sylvester Stallone. It was going to be called, “Bartholomew vs. Neff.

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.