10 Facts About Karen Allen

Larrylambert
2 min readSep 23, 2024

She’s had a nice career beyond the Indiana Jones franchise.

Creative Commons: Steven Spielberg, Harrison Ford and Karen Allen

Karen Allen is instantly recognized as the iconic Marion Ravenwood of the Indian Jones franchise. But Karen has snuck up in some other notable movies. For example, she played Mrs. Smalls in The Sandlot. That’s right, she was the mother of Scott “You’re Killing Me” Smalls.

When I started writing this, I realized that like a lot of other celebs I have written about, I didn’t know much about Karen beyond a couple of her roles. So, after more research, here are some things you didn’t know about Karen Allen.

1: Karen’s first film was ‘Animal House.” And it involved nudity.

She later did another film called, “Shoot the Moon,” which to my knowledge didn’t involve nudity.

2: Her father was an FBI agent.

The family moved a lot when Karen was growing up. It must have been hard to be popular when you were always the new kid, plus your father was an FBA agent.

3: Her performance in “Raiders of the Lost Ark” brought her acclaim.

She received a Saturn Award nomination for Best Supporting Actress. I’m not sure how other planets received her work.

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.