10 Facts About Jonathan Frakes

Larrylambert
3 min readJun 6, 2024

He was an excellent number two.

Creative Commons: Super Festivals from Ft. Lauderdale, USA

Though I’m not a Trekkie, I do like the Star Trek franchise. At least the original and The Next Generation branches of the franchise. Each of the first two installments had a dynamic franchise had a dynamic captain and an ultra-capable second in command. One of the nice things about the position was Picard would sometimes refer to him as “Number One.” I’m not sure who was number two, but that could have been a bummer.

Beyond Frakes’ work in Star Trek, I really didn’t know much about him. So, I boldly went into the internet to go where millions had gone before. And here are some things you might not have known about Jonathan Frakes.

1: He is married to Genie Francis. You might remember her from her stint on General Hospital during the Luke and Laura storyline. She was Laura.

I’m glad to see she got away from Luke and went with Riker. Luke seemed like a loser.

2: Jonathan directed some of the Star Trek feature films and various episodes of the Star Trek TV series franchise.

The Borg are remarkably good at taking direction. Klingons tend to be hard to direct. Okay…

--

--

Larrylambert

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.